The Epic Classroom #8

Self Reflection and Intrinsic Motivation

“Like and Wonders should be formative, and serve the purpose of improving the project, the class, the students, and the teacher.” -Trevor Muir, The Epic Classroom (page 173)

In this quote Muir talks about the self reflection system he uses in his classes where students talk about what they liked about the project and what they wonder could have gone better. I think this phrasing is perfect! It really encourages students to talk about what they didn’t like without blaming anyone specifically. This also encourages them to make changes for the future.

“I always want my students to be intrinsically motivated above all else… But there is a reality that extrinsic motivation has power as well, and the lure of a class period, or even 20 minutes of celebration can sometimes be enough motivation for students to fight to meet a deadline.” -Trevor Muir, The Epic Classroom (page 178)

I really like what the author is saying in this quote about how he motivates his students. I agree that sometimes extrinsic motivation is powerful and necessary. But, I am wondering if we can do more to foster intrinsic motivation in our students. So I found this awesome article about 27 Ways to Promote Intrinsic Motivation In The Classroom. Some of the top ones that I can see myself using in my online classroom are:

  1. Spark curiosity in the subject matter
  2. Ask students what motivates them for sports or other activities and then tap into those motivators
  3. Praise students for meaningful accomplishments
  4. Create a trusting atmosphere
  5. Discover your students’ passions

Leave a Reply