Giving Students a Chance to Right Their Own Wrongs

One of the hardest things for me to deal with as a teacher is students who copy their assignments from other sources. I am not talking about missing a citation on a quote or anything small like that, I am talking about a student fully copying an entire paper/assignment from a website or another student. I recently had a student that was under a lot of stress trying to finish up the class before the end of the semester that she decided to do just that. I could tell right away that something was off because her assignment, which was supposed to be an analysis of a crime, read more like a news article; it didn’t mention criminology theories or anything else from the class. So I did a little research and I discovered an article that was exactly the same, word for word.

I knew I had to talk to her and her mentor about it, but here is the important part, she had turned in a bunch of assignments that same day that I hadn’t graded yet. When I sent her a message about the assignment she immediately replied saying how sorry she was and that she would never do it again. I then took the opportunity to do what the title of the post says, I asked her if there are any other assignments that she turned in that she wants to redo before I look at them. She took this opportunity to redo a few other assignments, realizing that this was the time to be honest and turn in quality work. I was very proud that she chose to right her own wrongs with these other assignments. To me, that said a lot more about who she was than the copied assignment that I had seen earlier.

After this conversation, we had a great teacher-student relationship. I am really glad that I was able to turn what would have been a bad mistake into a learning opportunity, for both of us. 

 

2 Comments on Giving Students a Chance to Right Their Own Wrongs

  1. Lisa Rohde
    February 2, 2018 at 8:39 pm (6 years ago)

    Hi Lauren! I used to find academic integrity issues so frustrating as well–sometimes I’m sure I was just sitting there with my mouth hanging open when I read assignments that were clearly “borrowed” without permission. I love that you made this a teachable moment rather than a “gotcha” moment–there’s plenty of time for those if the behavior continues. I think says a lot about your desire to help students learn that you allowed the student the chance to “right their wrongs.” It’s a great tactic! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Andrea McKay
    February 8, 2018 at 8:42 pm (6 years ago)

    That’s a great way to look at this, Lauren! So frustrating when students cut corners, but mistakes are always that chance for growth. Righting wrongs is one of the key principles of trust in Covey’s Speed of Trust, so I’m glad you apply this philosophy with your students as well. It’s important that there’s an opportunity to restore relationships and move forward on the right foot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply