The Epic Classroom #2

Chapter 2: The Five Elements

After reading this chapter my first thought was wow, I want to be in his class!

The main thing that stood out to me in this chapter was how he contacted people right here to find refugees from the areas in Africa that they were currently studying in class. Most teachers would have used the textbook, maybe found a video or shown “The Lost Boys of Sudan” documentary and the students would have remembered everything for a short time (enough to get through the test right?) but they wouldn’t be making lasting memories like in Trevor Muir’s class.

“I felt that the student hearing from an actual person who has been on the journey of a refugee would be a worthy experience… I was right.” -Trevor Muir

I don’t know if this was one of the refugees living in MI that Muir reached out to but this chapter reminded me of this awesome Ted Talk:

Overall my takeaway from this chapter was that creating experiences that students will remember forever is key to them actually learning and not just memorizing information.

Leave a Reply