Learning From Each Other

Last week’s Webinar was AMAZING! I learned so much from my colleagues at Michigan Virtual that I ended up with a huge list of things to try!

The first thing that I tried was something suggested by my fellow iEducator Lauren Nalepa. She showed that on her announcements for er Digital Imaging class (a class that I am teaching for the first time this semester) she posts GIMP tutorial videos on her weekly announcements. So that is what I did this week!

Students are at the point in the semester for this class where they are working on their individual final portfolios. Because of this, there are not lessons that students are given specific to each week anymore. And I have see quite a few portfolio assignments using text. So I wanted to show students that more could be done than just plain old text in their assignments. And so this week, I shared the video below on creating a paint dripping effect on text. I also look forward to continuing to inspire my students with a new GIMP tutorial video each week. Thank you for the inspiration, Lauren Nalepa!

*Image below is a hyperlink to the video I shared with my students this week.

3 Comments on Learning From Each Other

  1. Andrea McKay
    November 29, 2017 at 9:02 pm (6 years ago)

    My favorite thing about working with Michigan Virtual is how willing everyone is to share, learn, and grow together. And now you are also a part of that! Thanks for the reflection, Lauren!

    Reply
  2. Heather Murphy
    December 12, 2017 at 4:03 am (6 years ago)

    One of the first things that my cooperating teacher told me when I began student teaching was “Beg, borrow, and steal as much as you can from other teachers.”. This is advice that I still follow and give – there are so many great ideas out there, you never know where you will find inspiration!

    Reply
  3. Lori
    December 12, 2017 at 7:47 pm (6 years ago)

    Each year in our Webinar series, this is always my favorite one! And even though I have been teaching for a long time, I learn something new each year to try out. When I think I have tried it all, something new comes out to try! It is so amazing to see the new things teachers are implementing into their classrooms. I am now addicted to using GIFs in my announcements as well. Great post, Lauren!

    Reply

Leave a Reply